Shuguang CUI /  Presidential Chair Professor

Welcome to the School of Science and Engineering, The Chinese University of Hong Kong, Shenzhen (CUHK-Shenzhen)!

In order to meet the strategic development needs of the booming industries in China and particularly in the Pearl River Delta region (PRD), School of Science and Engineering, The Chinese University of Hong Kong, Shenzhen (CUHK-Shenzhen) is striving to build an international platform for scientific and technological innovation, and to cultivate all-rounded and creative talents in this exciting era.

School of Science and Engineering was founded and enrolled the first batch of undergraduate students in 2015. After four years’ study, their overall placement rate is as high as 98.85%. Aftre 2015, the number of undergraduate students has been increasing annually, with the proportion of international students scaling up as well. Now it is commonly accepted that Shenzhen is acting as a central hub of the Guangdong-Hong Kong-Macau Greater Bay Area. Combining the unique geographical, technological, and industrial advantages of Shenzhen as China’s Silicon Valley, School of Science and Engineering has set up a series of frontier undergraduate and graduate programs, which includes seven undergraduate majors: Electronic Information Engineering, New Energy Science and Engineering, Mathematics and Applied Mathematics and Financial Engineering; One taught graduate programs: Executive Master of Science in Supply Chain and Logistics Management; and two research graduate programs: MPhil-PhD Program in Computer & Information Engineering, MPhil-PhD Program in Materials Science and Engineering.

As a school, we have been marching on. In just a few years, we have recruited a team of top notch faculty members around the world, including multiple Turing Award Winners, Fields Medalists, Academicians across the world, and senior scholars from world-class universities. Adhering to the academic tradition of The Chinese University of Hong Kong (CUHK) and exploring the unique geographical and economic advantages, we have successfully secured government support for multiple key research teams. Meanwhile, we also have built several joint laboratories between the university and leading enterprises, which include CUHKSZ-Tencent AI Lab Joint Lab of Machine Intelligence, CUHKSZ-JD Joint Lab of AI, and so on.

Therefore, here I encourage all students to seize the opportunity with the development of the Guangdong-Hong Kong-Macao Greater Bay Area, to learn its spirit and value, and to become an individual who dares to explore the unknown, think deeply, innovate constantly and make a clear career plan with your own development goals. I wish you can make use of the four fruitful years in this university to enrich yourself, broaden your horizon, accumulate more knowledge, and well prepare yourself for the future. As a member of SSE, we should always study hard and meet the opportunities and challenges with positive attitude. While our professional knowledge being accumulated, we should constantly improve our moral standard and enrich our spiritual world. As SSE fellows, we should keep our feet on the ground and envision beyond the cloud with confidence and long-term commitment.

Last but not the least, I sincerely welcome outstanding students and scholars around the globe to join us and build a better SSE!

崔曙光 / 校长讲座教授

欢迎您来到香港中文大学(深圳)理工学院!

面向国家及珠三角地区战略性新兴产业发展需求,打造国际化科技创新平台,在这个激烈竞争的时代中培养全面型和创新型的理工人才,是香港中文大学(深圳)理工学院向前发展的一大目标。

理工学院于2015年创立并招收第一批本科生,之后招生人数每年递增,国际生比例也逐年增多,首届本科毕业生的整体就业率为98.85%。深圳作为粤港澳大湾区的一个核心枢纽,理工学院结合深圳作为中国硅谷这一独特的地理、科技和产业优势,开设了一系列新兴前沿的本科及研究生专业,包括电子信息工程、新能源科学与工程、数学与应用数学、金融工程4个本科专业;供应链与物流管理行政人员硕士项目,以及计算机与信息工程、材料科学与工程2个博士项目。

作为一个学院,我们奋勇前行。在短短几年间,我们已经在全球聘用到了一流的师资团队,包括多名图灵奖获得者、菲尔兹奖获得者、多国科学院/工程院院士、海内外著名高校资深学者等;我们秉承着香港中文大学的优良学术传统,依托独特的地理和经济优势,成功获得政府对不同重点科研项目团队的支持;同时,我们还拥有多个校企共建联合实验室,包括香港中文大学(深圳)-腾讯AI Lab机器智能联合实验室、香港中文大学(深圳)-京东人工智能联合实验室等。

我鼓励同学们,抓住粤港澳大湾区发展的契机,学习大湾区建设的精神和价值所在,努力从建设和发展中获得启示。在大学生涯中探索未知、深入思考、不断创新、明确自身职业规划及方向,利用大学四年充实自己,开拓视野,积累知识,为自身未来发展做好准备。我们的学生,应该以积极的心态学习,以期迎接当今社会发展带来的机遇与挑战,提升自己的专业学识,不断地提高道德素养和精神修为。作为理工人,我们应脚踏实地,埋头挺进,任重道远,对此我们充满信心。

最后,我诚挚地欢迎全球优秀的学生学者加入我们,一起建设更好的理工学院!