WONG, Nai Ching Henry

Distinguished Presidential Chair Professor

Education Background

1973: B.Sc. (1st Class Honors), The Chinese University of Hong Kong

1976: Ph.D., University College London

1994: D.Sc., University of London

 

Research Field
Syntheses of natural and non-natural molecules
Personal Website
Email
hncwong@cuhk.edu.cn
Biography

Henry N.C. Wong obtained his B.Sc. degree with first class honors from CUHK in 1973 and was subsequently awarded a Shell Scholarship for Postgraduate Studies in the United Kingdom. He furthered his studies at University College London where he obtained his Ph.D. in 1976. After two postdoctoral research years at Harvard University, Henry Wong returned to University College London to begin his independent research undertaking as Ramsay Memorial Fellow. From 1980 to 1982, Henry Wong did research at the Shanghai Institute of Organic Chemistry, The Chinese Academy of Sciences. He returned to CUHK in 1983 and was the Chairman of the Department of Chemistry from 1995 to 1997. Henry Wong was Head of New Asia College in 2002-2010 and 2014-2020, Chairman of the Research Committee in 2004-2013, Chairman of the Academic Equipment Grants Committee in 2006-2013, Pro-Vice-Chancellor/Vice President for Research in 2009-2013. He was Dean of Science from 2012-2018. He is now Emeritus Professor of Chemistry and also Research Professor of CUHK. Henry Wong is currently also Chairman of the Management Committee, Shanghai-Hong Kong Joint Laboratory in Chemical Synthesis, Shanghai Institute of Organic Chemistry, The Chinese Academy of Sciences, Distinguished Long-term Visiting Professor of Southern University of Science and Technology in Shenzhen, and honorary professor and guest professor of many tertiary institutions on the Chinese mainland.

The research interests of Henry Wong are concerned with the syntheses and studies of natural and non-natural molecules. He has served on the editorial boards of several international and national journals. He has been invited to present in over 80 invited and plenary talks in national as well as international conferences and symposia, and has published over 265 research articles, reviews and book chapters.

Henry Wong won the 2nd Class State Natural Science Award of China in 1997. He was a Croucher Senior Research Fellow in 1999-2000 and was elected to The Chinese Academy of Sciences, The World Academy of Sciences for the advancement of science in developing countries (TWAS) (formerly known as The Third World Academy of Sciences) and The Hong Kong Academy of Sciences in 1999, 2004 and 2015, respectively.

 

Academic Publications

1. C.-K. Hau, S.S.-Y. Chui, W. Lu, C.-M. Che, P.-S. Cheng, T.C.W. Mak, Q. Miao, and H.N.C. Wong: “Thermotropic Liquid Crystals based on 1,8,9,16-Tetrasubstituted Tetraphenylenes and Their Structure-Property Relationship Studies”. Chem. Sci., pp 1068-1075 (2011).

2. X.-S. Xu, Z.-W. Li, Y.-J. Zhang, X.-S. Peng, and H.N.C. Wong: “Total Synthesis of (±)-Pallambins C and D”. Chem. Commun., Vol. 48, pp 8517-8519 (2012).

3. C. Cheng, Z. Cai, X.-S. Peng, and H.N.C. Wong: “Enantiomeric Recognition of Amino Acid Salts by Macrocyclic Crown Ethers Derived from Enantiomerically Pure 1,8,9,16-Tetrahydroxytetraphenylenes”. J. Org. Chem., Vol. 78, pp 8562-8578 (2013).

4. X.-D. Xiong, C.-L. Deng, Z. Li,  X.-S. Peng, and H.N.C. Wong: “Quasi-planar Diazadithio and Diazadiseleno [8] circulenes: Synthesis, Structures and Properties”. Org. Chem. Front, Vol. 4, pp 682-687 (2017).

5. X. L. Lu, M.-Y. ; Lyu, X.-S. Peng, and H.N.C. Wong: “Gold(I)-catalyzed Tandem Cycloisomerization of 1,5-enyne Ethers via Hydride Transfer”. Angew. Chem. Int. Ed., Vol. 57, pp 11365-11368 (2018).

6. Z. Zhong, Z.-Y. Wang, S.-F. Ni, L. Dang, H.-K. Lee, X.-S. Peng, and H.N.C. Wong: “Ligand-free Iron-catalyzed Carbon(sp2)-Carbon(sp2) Oxidative Homo-coupling of Alkenylllithiums”. Org. Lett., Vol. 21, pp 700-704 (2019).

7. X.-L. Lu, M. Shannon, X.-S. Peng, and , and H.N.C. Wong: “Stereospecific Iron-catalyzed Carbon(sp2)-Carbon(sp2) Cross-coupling with Alkyllithium and Alkenyl Iodides”. Chem. Asian J., Vol. 10, pp 2342-2346 (2019).

8. A. Mirzaei, X.-S. Peng, and and H.N.C. Wong: “PtCl2-catalyzed Cycloisomerization of 1,8-Enynes: Synthesis of Tetrahydropyridine Species”. Org. Lett., Vol. 21, pp 3795-3798 (2019)

9. Y.-G. Zhou, H.N.C. Wong, and X.-S. Peng: “Total Synthesis of (–)-Deoxoapodine, (–)-Kopsifoline D, and (–)-Beninine”. J. Org. Chem., Vol. 85, pp 967-976 (2020)

10. M.-Y. Lyu, Z. Zhong, V.K.-Y. Lo, H.N.C. Wong, and X.-S. Peng: “Total Synthesis of Cryptotrione”. Angew. Chem. Int. Ed., Vol. 59, pp 19929-19933 (2020).

黄乃正

冠名校长讲座教授

教育背景

科学博士:英国伦敦大学学院(1994)

哲学博士:英国伦敦大学学院(1976)

学士:香港中文大学(一级荣誉,1973)

 

 

研究领域
天然及非天然分子合成
个人网站
电子邮件
hncwong@cuhk.edu.cn
个人简介

黄乃正于1973于香港中文大学取得一级荣誉理学士学位,随即获蚬壳留英奖学金赴英国伦敦大学学院进修,于1976年获颁哲学博士学位后,再赴美国哈佛大学从事博士后研究两年。1979至1980年,黄教授于英国伦敦大学学院任Ramsay纪念研究员,开展独立研究工作;1980至1982年担任中国科学院上海有机化学研究所副研究员。黄乃正于1983年返回港中大任教,曾于1995至1997年任港中大化学系系主任。并于2002至2010年7月出任港中大新亚书院院长;2004年至2013年出任研究事务委员会主席;2006年至2013年出任教材设置拨款委员会主席, 及2009年到2013年任副校长。2012年至2018年任理学院院长,并于2014年1月至2020年底重新出任新亚书院院长。他是香港中文大学荣休化学讲座教授及研究教授, 也是中国科学院上海有机化学研究所沪港化学合成联合实验室管理委员会主席和深圳南方科技大学长期杰出客座教授,并出任多所内地大学的客座及顾问教授。

黄乃正主力研究天然及非天然化合物之合成,现为多份国际及内地化学期刊编委、资深评委或学术谘询委员。黄乃正曾获邀于国际及内地各化学研讨会作大会及特邀报告八十多次,迄今共发表文章逾二百六十五篇。

黄乃正曾获中国国家自然科学二等奖(1997年)、香港裘槎基金会杰出研究奖(1999年);并分别于1999年,2004年及2015年分别获选为中国科学院,发展中世界科学院(前称第三世界科学院)及香港科学院院士

学术著作

1. C.-K. Hau, S.S.-Y. Chui, W. Lu, C.-M. Che, P.-S. Cheng, T.C.W. Mak, Q. Miao, and H.N.C. Wong: “Thermotropic Liquid Crystals based on 1,8,9,16-Tetrasubstituted Tetraphenylenes and Their Structure-Property Relationship Studies”. Chem. Sci., pp 1068-1075 (2011).

2. X.-S. Xu, Z.-W. Li, Y.-J. Zhang, X.-S. Peng, and H.N.C. Wong: “Total Synthesis of (±)-Pallambins C and D”. Chem. Commun., Vol. 48, pp 8517-8519 (2012).

3. C. Cheng, Z. Cai, X.-S. Peng, and H.N.C. Wong: “Enantiomeric Recognition of Amino Acid Salts by Macrocyclic Crown Ethers Derived from Enantiomerically Pure 1,8,9,16-Tetrahydroxytetraphenylenes”. J. Org. Chem., Vol. 78, pp 8562-8578 (2013).

4. X.-D. Xiong, C.-L. Deng, Z. Li,  X.-S. Peng, and H.N.C. Wong: “Quasi-planar Diazadithio and Diazadiseleno [8] circulenes: Synthesis, Structures and Properties”. Org. Chem. Front, Vol. 4, pp 682-687 (2017).

5. X. L. Lu, M.-Y. ; Lyu, X.-S. Peng, and H.N.C. Wong: “Gold(I)-catalyzed Tandem Cycloisomerization of 1,5-enyne Ethers via Hydride Transfer”. Angew. Chem. Int. Ed., Vol. 57, pp 11365-11368 (2018).

6. Z. Zhong, Z.-Y. Wang, S.-F. Ni, L. Dang, H.-K. Lee, X.-S. Peng, and H.N.C. Wong: “Ligand-free Iron-catalyzed Carbon(sp2)-Carbon(sp2) Oxidative Homo-coupling of Alkenylllithiums”. Org. Lett., Vol. 21, pp 700-704 (2019).

7. X.-L. Lu, M. Shannon, X.-S. Peng, and , and H.N.C. Wong: “Stereospecific Iron-catalyzed Carbon(sp2)-Carbon(sp2) Cross-coupling with Alkyllithium and Alkenyl Iodides”. Chem. Asian J., Vol. 10, pp 2342-2346 (2019).

8. A. Mirzaei, X.-S. Peng, and and H.N.C. Wong: “PtCl2-catalyzed Cycloisomerization of 1,8-Enynes: Synthesis of Tetrahydropyridine Species”. Org. Lett., Vol. 21, pp 3795-3798 (2019)

9. Y.-G. Zhou, H.N.C. Wong, and X.-S. Peng: “Total Synthesis of (–)-Deoxoapodine, (–)-Kopsifoline D, and (–)-Beninine”. J. Org. Chem., Vol. 85, pp 967-976 (2020)

10. M.-Y. Lyu, Z. Zhong, V.K.-Y. Lo, H.N.C. Wong, and X.-S. Peng: “Total Synthesis of Cryptotrione”. Angew. Chem. Int. Ed., Vol. 59, pp 19929-19933 (2020).