Connie Chang-Hasnain

X.Q. Deng Presidential Chair Professor

Foreign Member of the Chinese Academy of Engineering, Member of the National Academy of Engineering, IEEE Fellow, Fellow of Optica Society of America
Education Background

Ph.D. (U.C. Berkeley)

M.S. (U.C. Berkeley)

B.S. (U.C. Davis)

Research Field
Micro/Nano electro mechanical systems (MEMS), physical electronics (PHY), Nano-Optoelectronic devices, Microsystems and materials
Academic Area
Electrical Engineering, Artificial Intelligence and Robotics

Connie Chang-Hasnain is the professor at the School of Science and Engineering of The Chinese University of Hong Kong, Shenzhen. She obtained her Ph.D. in Electrical Engineering and Computer Science from the University of California, Berkeley in 1987. She has served as the Vice Dean of the College of Engineering at the University of California, Berkeley, and the John R. Whinnery Chair Professor Emerita of Electrical Engineering and Computer Sciences and the co-director of Tsinghua-Berkeley Shenzhen Institute. She is a member of the National Academy of Engineering and the Inventors Hall of Fame of the United States, and a Fellow of the IEEE, IEE, and the Optica Society of America (now known as Optica).

Professor Chang has made seminal contributions to the physics, design, materials, and applications of vertical cavity surface emitting lasers (VCSELs). Her work has helped establish VCSELs as dominant technology in applications such as multi-mode fiber optics, optical coherence tomography, and 3D sensing. She has received numerous international awards including the IEEE David Sarnoff Award, the Okawa Prize, the Welker Award from the International Conference on Semiconductor Compounds, and the UNESCO Medal for Nanoscience and Nanotechnology Development.

Professor Chang has served as a global academic leader, leading and promoting the establishment and development of multiple international conferences and journals. She was the Editor-in-Chief of the Journal of Lightwave Technology, a flagship journal of IEEE and Optica from 2007 to 2012, and a member and chairman of important committees and international conference organizing groups. She was also the President of the Optica Society of America.

Academic Publications